Storyteller Bio: Meet Halah

Halah is our Arabic storyteller from Saudi Arabia. She has lived in New Zealand for more than 7 years.

We asked Halah: What are your favourite story memories?

My favourite story memories are from my childhood.  To me it means family, it is the voice of my mother telling my brothers and I stories at bedtime.

 

Why are stories important?

Stories are important as they can be an educational tool. The material of a story can impact human behaviour. Stories teach lessons, values and ethics.

 

What do you hope people.will gain from coming to Around the World in 80 Tales, or to your storytelling in particular?

I believe anyone who attends the event or my story session will have a wonderful journey traveling around the world, and exploring cultures from different countries and centuries.

“If you want to learn about a culture, listen to the stories.  If you want to change a culture, change the stories.” Michael Margolis.

 

Leave a Reply

